Women honored at New Britain YWCA luncheon

women honored at new britain ywca luncheon - Women honored at New Britain YWCA luncheon

More than 50 women in central Connecticut were honored Thursday afternoon at YWCA’s Women in Leadership luncheon at the Aqua Turf in Southington.

“Thank you for all that you’ve done to make our world better,” said Robin Sharp, the executive director of the New Britain YWCA, in her opening remarks. “You truly are an amazing and inspiring group.”

Women were awarded and inducted into the Carol R. Virostek Academy of Women Leaders for their accomplishments and contributions to businesses, non-profits, education, government organizations and the community. Since the event was established in 1985, more than 650 women have been honored.

New Britain Mayor Erin Stewart, a featured speaker, praised women in New Britain such as the Superintendent of Schools Nancy Sarra, New Britain Director of Finance Lori Granato, and New Britain Acting Deputy Police Chief Jeanette Portalatin.

“Women are playing a very vital role in leading and shaping our community and for that we are extremely proud,” said Stewart, a past recipient of the YWCA Women in Leadership Award for her work with Connecticut Breast Health Initiative’s Race in The Park.

Attendees sat down to a dinner of lemon chicken, potatoes and green beans while they watched a slide show of strong women in action.

Women in Leadership Chairwoman Jessica Hernandez, thanked the committee and many sponsors of the event.

Michelle France can be reached at 860-801-5087 or mfrance@centralctcommunications.com.

The following women were honored and inducted into the Carol R. Virostek Academy of Women Leaders:

Lillian Agostini, Volunter, CCARC, Inc., and owner, New Britain Transportation Company.

Ann Anderson, coordinator for Feed the Need Ministry, South Congregational First Baptist Church.

Francine Austin, past president, New Britain Lions Club.

Marie Bachand, vice president North Oak Neighborhood Revitalization Zone.

Giselle Benitez, production lead, Okay Industries, Inc.

Rose Booker, food service manager, CW Resources, Inc.

Donna Clark, senior warden, St. Mark’s Episcopal Church.

Ivonne Daigle, director of day services, Bristol Adult Resource Center, Inc.

Athena Dellas, chief financial officer, Wheeler Clinic.

Myrna Garcia-Bowen, director, Transfer & Articulation, Central Connecticut State University.

Paula Gilberto, president and CEO, United Way of Central and Northeastern Connecticut.

Alexandrea Isaac, general counsel, Starion Energy, Inc.

Nancy Kroeber, board member, Connecticut Breast Health Initiative.

Jill Larmett, disability resource coordinator, Capital Workforce Partners.

Nella Lastrina, executive administrator, Greater New Britain Chamber of Commerce.

Elaine Lechowicz, secretary, Arch Area Neighborhood Revitalization Zone.

Michelle Lewis, organizational assistant, Connecticut Breast Health Initiative.

Nelba Marquez-Greene, founder and executive director, Ana Grace Project.

Barbara Marzi, executive assistant and development coordinator, CCARC, Inc.

Jessica Parlapiano, accounting payroll administrator, CW Resources, Inc.

Janice Pina, assistant principal, Slade Middle School, Consolidated School District of New Britain.

Lynn Ricci, chairperson, Community Foundation of Greater New Britain and president and CEO, Hospital for Special Care.

Kimberly Selvaggi, executive director, LISA, Inc.

Kim Sirois Pita, founder and owner, Pita Peaces.

Dayna Snell, executive director, Queen Ann Nzinga Center.

Ashley Stone, founder and owner, Beauty Entourage and BE Salon and Studio.

Julie Swan, community service officer, New Britain Police Department.

Zulma Toro, president, Central Connecticut State University.

Tamara Vrabely, accounting manager and acting corporate secretary, Okay Industries, Inc.

Galina Wolinetz, head of integration management, Stanley Black & Decker.

Jenifer Yarsawich, detective, New Britain Police Department.

Student honorees include:

Amal Al-Hidalmi, Southington High School

Flore Barrillon, Conard High School

Alisha Chhabra, Rocky Hill High School

Claudia Cupe, Asnuntuck Community College

Taylor Domingue, Bristol Eastern High School

Annette Figueroa, Lincoln Technical Institute

Gillian Gereg, Farmington High School

Sonya Hadley, Middletown High School

Jenna Liseo, Cromwell High School

Sage Maier, Tunxis Community College

Sarah McAuliffe, St. Paul Catholic High School

Ebaa Mohmed, New Britain High School

Emma Moore, Wethersfield High School

Demesis Negron Figueroa, Central Connecticut State University

Keagan Ostop, Northwest Catholic High School

Victoria Pham, Conard High School

Daneirys Rivera, E.C. Goodwin Technical High School

Emma Roski, Berlin High School

Isabella Russo, University of St. Joseph

Jenna Scanlon, Newington High School

Back to: Home Bristol News

Help us share

You may also like...


Simply fill our short form and we will contact you back asap.