Chalford & Minch to exit Stroud in Boundary Commission changes

Big changes are planned in a shake-up of MP’s electoral boundaries.

Stroud’s electoral area is set to be redrawn under the initial plans announced today by the Boundary Commission for England (BCE) – an independent public body that reviews constituencies.

Under the new plans, Chalford, Bisley, Painswick and Upton will move out of the Stroud constituency and into the Cotswolds constituency.

This means, if approved, these areas will not be served by Stroud’s MP, but by the Cotswolds MP.

The Stroud constituency MP is currently Siobhan Baillie, while the MP for the Cotswolds is Geoffrey Clifton-Brown.

Meanwhile under the proposals, Wotton under Edge will leave the Cotswold constituency and become part of the Stroud constituency.

The changes will now be subject to consultations and revisions.

This first consultation will run for eight weeks, before closing on August 2.

A second consultation with public hearings will then take place in spring 2022, followed by a final four-week consultation in autumn 2022.

The Boundary Commission said: “By law, every constituency we propose must contain between 69,724 and 77,062 Parliamentary electors (as at 2 March 2020).

“As far as possible, we try to have regard to local ties, geographic factors, local government boundaries (as they were known at 1 December 2020), existing constituencies, and minimising disruption caused by proposed change.”

To object to the changes, visit:

Back to: The Traffic SEOWebsite SEONews and BLOGGloucestershire News

You may also like...